We Dance

We Dance

We dance around the idea of perfection.
We feel our way in the dark for a switch
Some binary thing that is either on or off
Because it makes sense to us.

Things are always easier if you can define them
Organize,
Categorize,
Compartmentalize.
Here’s a label for this drawer,
A color for your personality,
A file system for your life of chaos.

We try to make things fit because we long for it.
We want the world to make sense
And to know the purpose of it.

We dance around ideals because we can not reach them.
Because no color is ever just blue,
And the junk drawer exists for a reason,
And all file systems are flawed.

So if you ask me to define what this is
I will tell you “It’s complicated”,
And then I might just suggest that we dance.

About ShySpark

I blog, I garden, I eat cheeseburgers, and sometimes I take pictures. But mostly I just write poetry...
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

