A Lesson for Life

A Lesson for Life

I stop, I waiver, I falter, I fail
I begin again, but I get no where.
I keep on trying to open my heart
I move forward, turn around, and return to the start.

I’m looking for something to tell me which way
A compass, an arrow, a sign from this day.
It’s one thing to know thunder always follows a spark
Another to trust instinct when there’s nothing but dark.

I think, I stand, I sit, I stare
I’m feeling quite foolish for going no-where.
My frustration grows, my inner spark wanes
The uncertainty here causes such worrisome pains.

Then off in the distance my eyes spy a light
It’s tiny, but growing, giving color to night.
It must be the sign that I’ve waited for
A pathway, a choice, a window, a door.

I am content now to wait here a bit longer
To see if the signal is real and gets stronger.
I’ll be bothered no more for beginning again
If all the stopping and starting was a means to an end.

Now from within me, different thoughts start to grow
I smile, I sing, I dance, and I glow.
Somehow I know that being open was never in vain
And that I have nothing to lose, and so much to gain.

About ShySpark

I blog, I tweet, I eat cheeseburgers, and sometimes I take pictures. But mostly I just write poetry...
This entry was posted in Poetry, Unwrapped. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Lesson for Life

  1. lilly1949 says:

    Oh, yes! You do write poetry. I really enjoyed reading this one. No literary analysis from me. You had me reciting it aloud and wanting to dance to its rhyme.

Leave a Reply

