Meet Miss Hopeless Romantic

Meet Miss Hopeless Romantic

Tonight as I mix and mingle with a few new friends, Rum Chata and UV Cake, we are discussing, in earnest gossip, the re-appearance of Miss Hopeless Romantic who once ruled over the seven moons of my youth. When I first saw her last year, I thought it a trick, or some sort of mirage as I truly believed that when she sailed across the sea so many years ago, she would never return. Alas, she seems to have come home.

I also thought that if she ever came home, we would not recognize each other – we would no longer see eye to eye because the world has a way of changing us. If she still danced in the rain, and had a passion for the darkness and the notion of being whisked away, then I might not be able to tolerate that because I’ve become jaded with reality. The monotony of every day requiring me to stay in from the rain, and forgo the darkness completely for sleep would cause me to harbor feelings of resentment and jealousy toward her. I had my doubts about our reunion, but to my great joy, they were all for naught.

I reminisce about our little reunion with Cake and Chata…

We sat on the couch together, catching up like long lost friends often do, and I was amazed at the places she had gone and things she had seen, but also found it refreshing that we still had so much in common. We both still love to light fires and dance, and we both still love to be in nature and marvel at its beauty and also its powers of destruction. Her hair had grown longer and she lets it fall in natural waves around her shoulders and I was perplexed by the fact that she does not look like she has aged a day since we last spoke. I think there must be some special magic that comes from faithfully believing in fairy tales and happy endings. A powerful concoction that not only stops time, but also steels the heart and soul against the many storms of life. I had asked her to share her secret, but she just smiled and winked at me.

We talked about the state of the world today, and my place in it. We dwelled on her favorite subjects and I filled her in on recent events with regard to love and happiness. As I revealed all the details, she seems to understand with acute clarity what I was saying, not only by my words, but also by the look in my eye.

I told her that I can see the spoils of battle,
and that they are so beautiful and sweet.
It’s a life that is extraordinary, and full
and a happiness that is complete.

She smiled at me again, tilted her head to the side, and said in a soft quiet voice, “I do believe you have discovered the elixir that you seek, now don’t hesitate to enjoy it.”. We both laughed, just like old times. I knew there was a reason I always liked her so much.

… Well, we seem to be wrapping things up now. I think these new friends (and old) are pretty awesome – I just hope UV Blue and Cran don’t get too jealous.

In peace and harmony, hail and rain,
~Shyspark

About ShySpark

I blog, I tweet, I eat cheeseburgers, and sometimes I take pictures. But mostly I just write poetry...
This entry was posted in Journal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

