One Window

One Window

I saw the window and peered through the glass.
I opened the window and could smell the green grass.
O’er the fence there is a path that bends out of my view
With promises of more things, glorious and new.

And now that I’ve spied it I want to know more,
So I’ve turned this window of sorts into a door.
The angle of light as I step to the opposite side
Is bright and revealing, so much that nothing can hide.

More things are in focus, and I turn my head `round.
How wondrous this place is, this world that I’ve found.
I’m not sure where that path leads, but I want to know.
One window, one door, one step, here I go…

***

Most folks that would read this know already that I’m leaving my current position as a System Analyst for Methodist Hospital to pursue an opportunity with another local Omaha company, OTTR. What they may not know is that I have been working at Methodist for the past 16 and a half years and that it is the only professional position I have ever held.

By today’s standards, that is quite a long time to be with one employer, and even more so because I work in the field of information technology. The folks at Methodist have been a family of sorts for me for many years and in some ways, have seen me grow up. My time there has been tremendously valuable, and I have had countless opportunities to learn and grow. Methodist has had a large hand in making me the person I am today and I will be  forever grateful to those who were a part of that process.

In the past few weeks I have experienced a bevy of mixed emotions. Excitement about what lies ahead of me with so much to learn and do. Nervousness over starting something new and making what seems like such a big change and, of course, sadness over saying farewell to some really great people. One emotion that has been lacking in all of this… fear.

This new opportunity seemed to pop out of no-where, but when it did, I knew it was the right move for me. Some folks have said that I’m being very gutsy in making this jump, but it does not feel that way to me. It feels more like a door has opened up and on the other side of it are endless possibilities. I’m looking at the path ahead with a wide-angle lens and there are very few limitations on what can be accomplished.

No, there is no fear involved here. If you want to know what real fear is, rewind about 4 weeks and go for a ride with me on the white waters of NC (but that is a story for another time). For now, I’m just going to close this chapter and take a big step forward on this grand adventure we call life.

Always hopeful – Ever mindful,
~ShySpark

About ShySpark

I blog, I garden, I eat cheeseburgers, and sometimes I take pictures. But mostly I just write poetry...
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

