Give and Take

I was talking with a good friend of mine yesterday and having a glass of red wine and the conversation made me remember a journal entry I wrote several years back when I was in Austin for Thanksgiving. I remember reading that particular journal entry days later and thinking it was quite good, so after thinking about it again, I decided to dig into my archives and find it.

No, you are not going to get to read it here, because it’s not blog worthy, but there was a poem inside the journal entry which I would like to share. There was no title, so I am making that up now…

Give and Take
You never really know these people, you only know them on the surface
You are afraid to look them in the eye and that seems really on purpose
Then minutes pass and hours pass and you never get to know them
You’re missing out on who they are but also what you could show them

Inside and out you are unique and life is what you make of it
Traveling along the path it’s more of what you give than what you take from it
Each thing brings you to another place with a door for you to choose from
And when one closes, three more do open, and you find just how to use them

If this turmoil has taught me any lesson it’s how to really live
And from each moment to understand what to take and what to give
Because the time you have here flies so fast and you do not want to waste it
With every second, minute, hour, all you really need is to taste it.

Written November 27, 2009

***

We are the sum of our experiences. We are collectively every person we encounter and every thing that we do and share. The more we give to life the greater we become, and the greater we are, the more we can get out of life. A truly amazing cycle. Don’t wait for tomorrow, “Today is a good day to start”…

Peace Out,
~ShySpark

About ShySpark

I blog, I tweet, I eat cheeseburgers, and sometimes I take pictures. But mostly I just write poetry...
This entry was posted in Journal, Poetry, Unwrapped and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

