On Romance and Life…

Today is THAT day. Yeah, that day. It’s the day I make sure everybody knows how I feel about it. I’m that girl who will tell anyone who asks, and even those that don’t, how dumb I think Valentines day is. “If you love someone, you should let them know that ALL the time”, I say. I do believe that.

I think flowers are beautiful, and I very much enjoy having that beauty displayed where I can enjoy it, but not just today. I love flowers all the time. And I love chocolate all the time too. Have I mentioned my addiction to sugar? Ha. I’ve also recently mentioned my disdain for the US Mail, which extends to all things paper waste related. Cards are just dumb. I only do the card thing because I am trying to conform to what society expects. I know if I did not give my parents birthday cards, they would think something was wrong with me. But cards on Valentine’s day to tell someone that you love them feels so wasteful.

If you love someone, wrap them up in your arms and tell them. If you care, perhaps think of some small gesture you know they will appreciate and do that. Don’t wait for a special day, do it now. OK, well, today works because it IS Valentine’s day, but you get the point.

All of this is truth because all of this is how I really feel. But buried within the layers of the person I’ve become is a 16 year old girl who is very much a hopeless romantic. The person I am today reads the words I wrote then and just rolls her eyes. “Such fluff”, I say. But if I am being completely honest, there’s a part of me that would love to be swept off my feet on Valentines day. I know it’s all very contradictory, but people are complex and though I am a realist and a logical thinker, parts of my mind are carried away with grand romantic ideas. Like running away to some fantastic destination and sharing embrace on the top of a pyramid at sunset.

I want things to be extraordinary. I want life to be magical. I want more. In the small spaces of my life when I have time to daydream about such things, and those times seem far and few between, I find myself thinking about the future and what it might look like. The hopeless romantic in me finds that it’s not a whole lot different than it was in my youth. Back then, it was always about a boy who would come and rescue me from my boring life and wisk me away to some better place. The scenery has changed, but the theme is still the same.

I think about Hawaii, and Japan, and Australia, and Alaska, and Brazil. I think about Egypt, and Rome, and Italy, and the Grand Canyon. I want to go to all of these places, but it is not just about the places. It’s about sharing that experience with the person that you love. Having it now, and having it forever. Being on top of the mountain together is a pretty good feeling, but sharing the journey to get there and back again is so very, very meaningful. And that’s the stuff that lasts.

That’s the key to my spin on romance. It’s about living a full life together. It’s about the journey of every day and appreciating what you have every day and loving the people who are in your life every day. Make the most of it today because you are alive to live and to love and not just because it is Valentine’s day.

XOXOXOXO,
ShySpark

About ShySpark

I blog, I garden, I eat cheeseburgers, and sometimes I take pictures. But mostly I just write poetry...
This entry was posted in Journal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

