Twenty Years Later

Twenty Years Later

1994
Plain blank pages are nothing,
They are naked without words…

2014
I think of words I wrote back then
Nothing but honesty in every note
But there’s something lacking in completeness
On every page of words I wrote.

Something missing from the verse
I tried so hard to close the gap
I spun round and round that topic there
And got closer with every lap.

But nary a paper gone or kept
Captured the depth of things at hand
And so I moved on, long forgetting them
To some other unknown land.

Twenty years I’ve traveled now,
A journey wrought with joy and strife
Looking back at the path behind me
I recognize all that is my life.

And so it comes to this day
A blank page before me once again
Will I have the missing pieces now
To finish what I started way back then?

About ShySpark

I blog, I garden, I eat cheeseburgers, and sometimes I take pictures. But mostly I just write poetry...
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

