Night Terror

Night Terror

A zombie woke me up today before the break of dawn
I was running from the bath to bedroom hoping it was gone.
I slammed the door behind me and quickly held my breath
Waiting to see if it was still there to force me to my death.

Before my exhale it hit behind me, with a blow that shook the floor
Soon a second smash was made, twice the force as before.
I gathered every ounce of strength and pushed back with all my might
But with the third blow, the door broke open, and it was in my sight.

A thing of bone and flesh and stench, evil risen in the night
It grabbed my hand with rotted hand and bent down to take a bite.
In an instant I felt its sharp teeth on me and I swallowed back a scream.
Then I punched its hand off my hand which woke me from my dream.

About ShySpark

I blog, I garden, I eat cheeseburgers, and sometimes I take pictures. But mostly I just write poetry...
This entry was posted in From the Maker of Dreams, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

