Sleepless in Cancun

Earlier this year I went on vacation in Cancun. It was a four day getaway with three of my girlfriends. This time around, we were a more mild-mannered bunch enjoying delicious food, fancy drinks, relaxing days, and not much into the party-till-dawn scene. As it were, I went to bed at a reasonable hour every night, but could not seem to get a good sleep for anything. So four mornings in a row I was up before the sun. 

On one hand, it felt really great to wake up and be able to witness the sunrise in a place that is so tropical and beautiful with nothing in front of me but ocean and sky. To be fair, though, I was on vacation and seeing the sunrise once or twice would have been enough because I would also have liked to sleep until my heart was content. 

As each sunrise came and went, I found myself in a very calm and almost spiritual place. A place where I could let my mind wander to the corners of the universe and ponder over all things great and small. I became both connected and disconnected at the same time. 

The first morning, I merely slipped quietly out on the balcony of our room and just watched in silence. By the third morning though, I was prepared for another dark awakening. I was ready to dress and travel down to the beach so I could dip my toes in the crashing waves of the ocean as the sun made its debut on the horizon. 

It was that time that I attempted to capture the quiet moments of that morning with words which I am including here.

2014-04-23: Waking Up the Sun
I woke up before the sun today. I rolled over in the dark of the night and as I stretched myself out to rid my body of the sleep left in it, I decided the sun needed a nudge. So I got out of bed and looked out the window and spied the almost half moon high in the sky. The sun, however, was no where to be found. 

The sun is being lazy today, and slow to rise. I look out on the horizon and there are lots of low clouds for him to hide behind, but as the hue of the sky changes from dark and quiet to orange mixed with blue, I know it won’t be long…

Waves are crashing on the beach and the rhythmic pounding of the ocean is a perfect wake up call for the sleepy sun. Soon Venus will be gone followed closely by the moon and the sun will have taken over for its reign on this day.

And so it begins again… 

photo(1)

***

This post was partially inspired by the “Daily Post” prompt, 2014-08-29:

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/new-dawn/

 

About ShySpark

I blog, I tweet, I eat cheeseburgers, and sometimes I take pictures. But mostly I just write poetry...
This entry was posted in Journal, Post-A-Day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

