Long Talks and Sidewalks

Long Talks and Sidewalks

Rainbows and ponies don’t do anything for me.
Don’t bring me cut flowers and expect me to smile and swoon.
I don’t need material things to stimulate a feeling,
Or simulate some other notion of how a girl should feel.
I don’t need perpetual sunshine either.
Life is boring, life is long.
The cracks in the sidewalk are where things are interesting.
The pain of falling down and the process of getting up again are the things that matter.
Look me in the eyes and give me your words.
Give me your time.
Tell me your story.
Those are the things I want.
And in return I’ll walk beside you.
And we shall help each other up again,
When we fall.
And on and on,
Until the sidewalk ends.

78050495

About ShySpark

I blog, I tweet, I eat cheeseburgers, and sometimes I take pictures. But mostly I just write poetry...
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Long Talks and Sidewalks

  1. jabrush1213 says:

    Off topic here, but I nominated you for the Inspiring Blog Award. jabrushblog.wordpress.com

  2. jabrush1213 says:

    The actual name of the award is Very Inspiring Blogger Award. jabrushblog.wordpress.com

    • ShySpark says:

      Thanks Jen! This is quite unexpected, but happily received!! I’ve been posting for about four years but just now beginning to participate in the “social” blogging community. The 201 Poetry class was my first attempt at interaction with others through our blogs. I’m so pleased at the outcome – this nomination feels like icing on an already delicious cake! Thanks again!!

Leave a Reply

