Ode To Mrs. Potter’s Lullaby

Ode To Mrs. Potter’s Lullaby

I’m listening to the Lullaby
Its sound soaking into my skin
Every verse as it surrounds me
A glimpse at all the people
I could never have been.

Like an idiot on a tightrope
Walking a line of fortune and fame.
Not that I wouldn’t if I could
But I’m not sure about
the rules of such a game

And I’ll not be any king of Hollywood
Smashing my cup on the palace floor
I can’t even be the servant called forth
In the drama of the moment
To bring him one more.

I can see millions of miles into the distance
and for that my life will never be a shame.
Though the floor around me is always lava
I refuse to be an acrobat
flying through circles of flame

I sometimes have memories in my dreams
And I’m pained by all the sorrow it brings
and I wake up after midnight
Because that’s when I know I can trust
The melody of the song my soul sings.

I will never be the last one out
That burden is just too much to bear
And I can’t be a rule breaker
I’ve tried and I’ve failed
and that just doesn’t seem fair

There’s a piece of my past
In every daydream my mind can see
There’s a million miles of sunset ahead
And I can never escape discovering
All the people I’m not meant to be

About ShySpark

I blog, I garden, I eat cheeseburgers, and sometimes I take pictures. But mostly I just write poetry...
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

