My Perfect Sunset Sky

My Perfect Sunset Sky

I’m so sorry for trying to make you out to be
A puzzle piece
Rounded edges to fit certain curves
In the color of burnt sienna
A fairy-tale ending moment
To complete the picture of my perfect sunset sky.

I’m still reminded daily of something lost
A random song forever haunted by
The unknown road we traveled.
I was once so in love with you, with us.
Lulled into the gaps where we could be
Us without the weight of all the world.

But the world is heavy and full of stones
And people can’t live inside the gaps
And that picture I had in my head of life
I guess, is just a fantasy.
The kind you say it’s OK to dream of
Even if it is something that can never be.

Still we had night trains and starry skies
Togwotee and color changing eyes
Those are moments that I will always own
And I will never regret how and when we started
Even if I’m forever broken hearted
Incomplete without my missing piece, alone.

About ShySpark

I blog, I garden, I eat cheeseburgers, and sometimes I take pictures. But mostly I just write poetry...
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

