Sunday Morning Song

Sunday Morning Song

The house is alive
while I sleep.

I wake to new dirty dishes
piled in the sink.

I tread lightly
through the early morning
to keep the house asleep.

I think with my fingers
tapping on a tiny keyboard,
scrunch my face
at all the backspacing.

A robin sings
out my window
and I’m content
to hear it
alone.

***

It’s not Friday, but this morning when I was thinking about writing and first drafts I was sad to realize I have not written any new poems since January. I’ve been journaling a lot and mostly working on revisions for school but no new poems have emerged. So I wrote a poem today, to try and make myself feel better.

About Shyla Ann

Analytical Virgo from Iowa | Mom | Editor | Travel Enthusiast. I take a lot of pictures of flowers, sunsets, and my cats. Sometimes I write but, truly, I’m just trying to make the most out of each and every day.
This entry was posted in First Draft Friday, Journal, Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment